Harrington - Culture and History

Surveyor John Oxley passed through the area in 1818 and named the mouth to the Manning River, Harrington Inlet. The name has remained.

A series of dangerous and dramatic sand bars lie just off the coast where the river meets the sea. During the nineteenth century a number of vessels attempting to enter the Manning River were wrecked on the bar. In recent times this problem has been partly solved by the construction of a long breakwater. However in the nineteenth century and the early twentieth century the boats entering the Manning River were brought across the bars by pilots familiar with the dangers and the shallow shoals.

The town's one historical monument is located on Pilots Lookout, a headland to the north east of the town. Here the graves of the pilots and some of the members of their families lie overlooking the bar and the ocean.

Today the local fishermen, joined by numerous enthusiastic visitors, fish the waters near Harrington and bring in good catches of snapper, bream, blackfish and whiting.

7 km beyond Harrington is the charming fishing village of Crowdy Head with its 1879 Lighthouse and its substantial fishing fleet. It is possible to buy fresh fish from the local cooperative.

In recent times this isolated community gained national media coverage when a school of False Killer Whales beached themselves nearby and had to be towed out to sea.