Ranelagh and its attractions
The area around Huonville grows more than half of Tasmania's apples. The town itself has little of real interest and the major historical buildings in the area are located at Ranelagh, a delightful almost English village with an old Oast House which was originally used for the processing of hops. The Oast House is part of the Frankcomb Estate which, as a major employer in the area, processes both apples and hops.
Ranelagh is surrounded by hop fields. An indication of how cold the area gets in winter can be gleaned from the large wood piles beside many of the houses in the village. St James Anglican Church, on the right as you enter Ranelagh from Huonville, is a delightful old timber church with an interesting graveyard.
Ranelagh's only 'tourist attraction' is the Tasmanian Antique Motor Museum' which has over 40 old vehicles including a 1934 Terraplane and a 1923 Fiat 501 originally owned by Lady Jones of IXL.
To the north of Huonville is The Huon Valley Apple Museum and Heritage. It is a typical local folk museum with memorabilia, gifts and, in season, lots of apples for sale. For more information check out: http://www.applemuseum.huonvalley.biz/