The Kilmore Tourist Information Centre is located in the town library at 12 Sydney St, tel: (03) 5781 1319.
Whitburgh Cottage is the town's oldest surviving house. The first two rooms of this bluestone building were erected in 1853 for Scots coachbuilder and blacksmith William Smeaton whose family lived in the house until 1966. Another two rooms were added in 1857. The whole is enclosed by a fine little picket fence.
The cottage is signposted off the main road in Piper St and is now a museum which has been set up to reflect the domestic culture of mid-19th-century Australia. It includes many heirlooms of the Smeaton family. Opening hours are from 2.00 p.m. to 4.00 p.m. on Sundays or by appointment, tel: (03) 5782 1118.
Historic Buildings - Powlett Street
Kilmore has a number of historic buildings. At the corner of Powley St and Foote St is the old bluestone post office (1861) which is now an antique centre. Just along the road is the former bluestone courthouse (1864) and adjacent that are the red-brick police barracks (1892).
'Bindley House' is an imposing two-storey bluestone residence which was built c.1862 for a local doctor. Recently restored it is located at 20-22 Powlett St and is now open as bed-and-breakfast accommodation. Lavender Cottage Craft and Tea Rooms, at 80 Powlett St, is located in a late Victorian building (c.1890) and is open Thursday to Sunday and public holidays.
Also of interest are Atholton Antiques at 11-13 Powlett St (open daily) and Fulvio's Pottery at 90 Clarke St, which also has antiques, reproduction furniture and arts and crafts (also open daily).
The former town hall (c.1894) can be found at 16 Sydney St. The imposing and decorative facade, with its enormous Corinthian pilasters, seems a little overblown in relation to the rest of the building, reflecting the fact that it was originally meant to be a much larger structure. However, it is still an outstanding element of the town's streetscape.
Old Kilmore Gaol
The Old Kilmore Gaol was opened in 1859 as a maximum security prison. In 1891 it became a butter factory and a private residence in 1968 and is now a tourist attraction. There are guided tours with historical commentary. For individuals and small groups the cost is $5 a head. For groups of 10 or more it is $3 a head but you must book first. There are also antiques, collectables, a trash-and-treasure, a monthly market and a restaurant. Covering an acre-and-a-half it is located by the corner of Foote St and Sutherland St, tel: (03) 5782 1108.
Other Historic Buildings
St Patrick's Catholic Church (1857-62) is located in Sutherland St (a different one to the Sutherland St of the prison). In 1854 Kilmore became the first Roman Catholic Parish in Victoria outside of Melbourne and it retains a strong Catholic community to this day. St Andrew's Presbyterian Church (1868) is in Hamilton St. The Tea Rose Cottage (c.1856), at 67 Fitzroy St, is now a bed-and-breakfast.
Hudson Park is adjacent Powlett St in the centre of town. There are picnic and barbecue facilities.
Victoria's Tramway Museum
The Tramway Museum offers tram rides through the countryside and an extensive display of cable cars and trams dating back to 1884. It is open on Sundays from 10.00 a.m. to 5.00 p.m, tel: (03) 9798 6035. To get there head south along the highway and, about halfway to Wallan, turn left into Union Lane. Bylands is located on a big hill which used to be called Big Hill. It was renamed Pretty Sally after a woman who ran a sly grog shanty here in the 1840s.
Pyalong is a tiny little hamlet which is located 22 km north of Kilmore along the Northern Highway. Its focal point is the cluster of single-storey buildings in High St which are collectively known as 'Whitehart' and which were once the White Hart Hotel (1857). The main building has a long verandah of later vintage and the other buildings are gathered around a rear courtyard.
Nearby are two timber trestle railway bridges which were built in 1889-90 over Hanford's Creek and Mollison's Creek as part of the Bendigo to Wandong track.
Mt William Winery
Mt William Winery, to the north-west of Kilmore, specialises in pinot noir, chardonnay and sparkling burgundy. There are barbecue facilities in a garden setting and the cellar door is open weekends or by prior arrangement during the week. To get there head west along the Lancefield Rd for 14 km then turn right, heading north on Mt William Rd for 8 km to its end, tel: (03) 5429 1595.