The Ponderosa Cabin, a log cabin in Clyde St, is the local information centre. It also has souvenirs as well as hops, tobacco and timber displays (and a drapery and hairdresser's!) and it is generally open every day but Sunday, tel: (03) 5752 1727. Nearby, at Clyde and Standish Sts, is the Myrtleford Hotel which dates from the late 19th century.
The Phoenix Tree
Located adjacent the Great Alpine Rd at the Wangaratta end of town, the Phoenix tree is a massive sculpture carved out of the trunk and roots of a red gum by noted sculptor Hans Knorr. A signboard explains its significance as a tribute to the town.
Opposite the Phoenix Tree are the recently-established Michelini's Wines. They are open for tastings daily, tel: (03) 5751 1990.
Head south-east along the Great Alpine Rd to Ovens (5 km) where there is a signposted turnoff on the left. 4 km along this road to Mount Beauty is Rosewhite Vineyards (in Happy Valley Road) which was established in 1983. It produces cabernet sauvignon, traminer, chardonnay, pinot noir, shiraz and old tawny port. It is open weekends and public holidays from 10.00 a.m. to 5.00 p.m. except in January when it is open every day, tel: (03) 5752 1077.
Old School Museum
The Old School Museum contains a collection of material pertaining to local history. It is located in the old Myrtleford school in Elgin St and is open from 2.00 p.m. to 4.00 p.m. on Sundays. Otherwise just pull into town and ring the number posted on the door.
Elgin St is also the starting point of the walking track to the lookout at Reform Hill. By car you can follow Halls Rd then turn right into Scenic Drive. You will eventually reach a T-intersection. A left leads to the Reform Hill lookout and a right to Tower Hill Lookout.
The town has a number of delightful picnic spots, such as the banks of Happy Valley Creek in Jubilee Park, adjacent the highway and opposite the post office in the centre of town. There are picnic facilities. It is pleasant to walk from the swing bridge on the western side of the park along the banks of the creek.
There is also a pleasant swimming hole further south along Standish St, at Nimmo Bridge which spans the Ovens River. There is a camping area adjacent.
Rotary Park is located on the western outskirts of town, opposite the Savoy Club, on the Great Alpine Rd. Cundy Park is at the corner of O'Donnell Ave and Standish St.
In Smith St you will find a giant old red gum which is 18 m tall and 8 m in circumference with a 27-m spread.
Ovens Valley State Forests
There are large tracts of bush and forest in the area which are popular with 4WD drivers.. They are generally closed until late November. Ring the local office of the Department of Natural Resources and Environment for maps and advice. They are located in McGeehan Crescent, tel: (03) 5752 1911.
Deer, Emu and Ostrich Farm
The Snow Lion Red Deer Stud, Emu Farm and Restaurant is located 15 km south-east along the Great Alpine Rd at Eurobin. It is open daily from 10.00 a.m. to 4.00 p.m. Other times are possible but only for large groups and only by prior arrangement. Visitors can wander around and observe the deer, ostriches, emus and other farm animals. Driving tours into the local forest are sometimes run, but only for large groups and only if staff numbers are sufficient and the weather is fine, tel: (03) 5756 2365.
Horse and Dingo Stud
The Nug Nug Quarter Horse and Dingo Stud is 16 km south on Buffalo River Rd. It is only open for large groups, tel: (03) 5754 2209.
Fishing and watersports are popular at Lake Buffalo, 24 km south via Buffalo River Rd which heads off the Great Alpine Rd. There are no facilities other than a toilet block and wood barbecues. Fishing is also popular on the Ovens and Buffalo Rivers, Rose River and Barwidgee Creek.