Located 63 km east of Launceston and 200 metres above sea level, Scottsdale is the major township in the mountains between Launceston and the east coast. Surrounded by hills, it is very much a timber town. The Forestry Commission has large offices in town. There is also mixed farming in the surrounding district.
The first Europeans into the area were Janet and Andrew Anderson who took up the 'Barnbougle' holding near Bridport in 1833. Two years later Peter Brewer took up land at 'Bowood' where he built a home in 1839. It is oldest building in the district although it is not open to the public.
It wasn't until 1852 that the area began to develop. The Government Surveyor, James Scott (after whom the town is named), tried unsuccessfully to cut a bridle track from St Patrick's River to Cape Portland and, passing through the area he noted that it had 'the best soil in the island'. The area around present-day Scottsdale was surveyed in 1858-59 and named 'Scotts New Country'. It was settled predominantly by Scottish and English settlers and by 1868 a visitors was recording that the township had 'numerous cosy neat cottages with their fruit and flower gardens in the front ... There are five or six hundred inhabitants ... There is yet neither police station nor public house, but the people appear to get on harmoniously enough without them.'
By 1889 the railway had reached the town and by 1893 the town had been officially named Scottsdale. It had previously been variously named Cox's Creek and Cox's Paradise (after an early settler who spent much of his time telling people how beautiful the area was), Heazlewood and Heazleton - also after an early settler Thomas Diprose Heazlewood and Ellesmere.
Things to see
Anabel's of Scottsdale
Anabel's of Scottsdale is located at 46 King Street. It is a National Trust Building in the heart of Scottsdale which is now being used as a restaurant. It was built in the 1890s and purchased by the Dinham family a few years later. It is famed for its outstanding gardens. If you visit in spring you will experience the magic of the wisteria, rhododendrons and camellias in full bloom. The Dinhams operate it as a restaurant and in recent times they have added accommodation. For more information check out:http://www.vision.net.au/~anabels/
The Old Post Office in Scottsdale
The Old Post Office was once an Art Gallery. It was built in the 1880s and in recent times has become the town's folk museum. The unusual and interesting clock tower outside was erected by the Lions Club in 1979.
St Barnabas Church
Built in 1892, and located in King Street, St Barnabas's Church of England is the first example of an apsidal building (an apse is a semi-circular or hexagonal recess commonly at the end of the choir in a church) in Tasmania. It is an small, attractive wooden building.
Located 15 km west of Scottsdale, Nabowla is world famous for its lavender which, because it exists in isolation, cannot be contaminated by cross pollination. The Bridestowe Lavender Farm is open all year round. The lavender is in flower from early December until it is harvested in January. Entry is free in all months except December and January when guided tours are held every half hour. Bridestowe Lavender Farm is one of the largest producers of lavender oil in the world.
At the Forester River only 5 km out of Scottsdale there is quite a bit of hop growing. In fact Scottsdale is known as one of the main hop growing areas in northern Tasmania.