Tunbridge

Tunbridge
Historic coaching town on the Midland Highway
Originally known as Tunbridge Wells (after the famous English spa town), Tunbridge is a small town located 92 km from Launceston and 107 km from Hobart. It has been by-passed by the main Midland Highway and consequently has a quiet charm well removed from the urgency of the highway.

The town came into existence in 1809 and quickly developed into an important coaching stop between Hobart and Launceston. The area grew rapidly in the 1810s as convicts worked on the road from the north to the south of the island. In recent times the town has been by-passed which has meant that it has been able to maintain much of its historic charm. There are no antique or gift shops and no accommodation.

Things to see:

Historic Buildings
Tunbridge Manor is at the centre of town and dominates the townscape. Other buildings of importance include the Colonial Homestead was built in 1820, the Tunbridge Wells Inn (now closed down), The Victoria Inn (outside is a sandstone roller used to roll the roads by the convicts), the Coaching Stables (1843), The Blind Chapel (now the Masonic Hall and reputedly 'blind' - no windows - on one side so the parishioners didn't have to look at the local pub, and Bowerman's General Store (a handsome two-storey Georgian building with a five bay facade and slim columns)

Tunbridge Convict Bridge
Built in 1848 it is the oldest single span bridge in Australia. It spans the Blackman River at the northern end of the town. It is particularly important as it is a rare example of a sandstone bridge with timber decking.

Accommodation and Eating
No Accommodation or Eating facilities are available.

Comments