Wedderburn - Places to See

The Coach House Museum
The museum at 51 High St is located in an old store built in 1864. It takes the form of an authentic old-style general store from 1910 with original period items on the shelves (some were unsold stock found on the premises). There is also a blacksmith's display, photographs and other memorabilia, and a collection of carts and buggies in an outbuilding. It is open every day but Monday for a small fee, tel: (03) 5494 3342. You can also direct tourism enquiries here.

Christmas Reef Gold Mine
4 km east of town, in the bush, is the Christmas Reef Gold Mine, a small-scale, working gold mine which offers the chance to see some old-fashioned reef mining (complete with antiquated equipment) at first hand. There is a guided tour through the mine which is easily accessible for all ages. The tunnels have been dug and blasted by hand and you can see a 100-year-old stamper battery at work. There is also a museum display in a bark hut and a barbecue area. It is open to the public on a daily basis. Head east out of town on the Borung Rd and watch for the signposted left past the golf course, tel: (018) 507 854 or (03) 5494 3492.

Hard Hill Tourist Area and Eucalyptus Distillery
The Hard Hill Area was once the site of local gold diggings. A government ore-crushing battery and a puddler remain from the old days. The former is locked but in working order. The latter was used to mix compacted dirt with water. The slurry was taken off and the remaining mud was then washed to reveal gold particles. There are picnic facilities, walkways through the bush and plans to open up one of the old mining tunnels. Turn west off the highway into Tantalla St, thence into Wilson St and Hard Hill Court (the route is signposted from the highway).

Nearby is a eucalyptus distillery which is used to produce eucalyptus oil by boiling the leaves, collecting the steam, allowing it to condense then skimming the oil off the surface, tel: (03) 5494 3517.

Johnson's Detector Shop
As gold detection is one of the main tourism activities an obvious attraction is Barry Johnson's gold shop. Barry is the local expert on the whereabouts of local fossicking and old goldmining sites. He can also provide free lessons on panning and metal detection, hire you detectors, maps, picks, scales and books and he conducts free trips to the goldfields every Saturday at 1.30 p.m.. He is located on the Calder Highway and can be contacted from 9.00 am. to 9.00 p.m. every day but Sunday, tel: (03) 5494 3492.

Historic Buildings
The former Methodist (now Uniting) Church in High St is a simple Gothic Revival brick structure with a small central tower built in 1866. The ANZ bank building (1875), old Commercial Hotel and former Royal Hotel (1867) are all in High St. The bank is opposite the museum. The Royal is opposite the service station at the northern end of town. It is now a bed-and-breakfast with an art-and-craft gallery, tel: (03) 5494 3493.

The Presbyterian Church (1868) is in Wilson St, as are the Church of Christ and the Holy Trinity Anglican Church. The latter, at the corner of Wilson and Kerr Sts, is a Gothic Revival sandstone structure with lancet windows built in 1866 with a chancel added in 1909. Wedderburn Primary School is also in Wilson St.

Mud-Brick and Stone Cottages
Some old houses remain from the gold days and they are also signposted off the highway in Tantalla Street.

The Lonely Grave
At the northern end of town (again signposted off the highway) is an isolated bush grave of Scottish gold miner, Thomas Whyte, who died in 1856.


Engine Park
Monthly markets are held on the fourth Saturday of the month in Engine Park which is situated opposite the police station on the main road at the southern end of town. The Steam Engine Rally is also held here and there is a permanent static steam engine display.

Yabby Farm
A yabby farm is located in Scotts Lane. It is open from October to May. Coaches and groups are welcome by appointment, tel: (03) 5494 3091.

Skinners Flat Reservoir
The reservoir is a fine picnicking spot to the north of town. Follow the Calder Highway for 6 km then take the signposted right. This road leads to the reservoir and a forestry track continues north through the bush to Mt Kerang.

Wychitella Flora and Fauna Reserve
The reservoir and mountain are located within the western section of Wychitella Flora and Fauna Reserve which was created to protect a section of mallee forest occupied by the lowan or mallee fowl and the marsupial mouse. This rare creature is indigenous to north-western Victoria. It builds a mound up to five metres in diameter and one metre high and lays its eggs inside the mound which is adjusted daily to maintain its temperature at 33 degrees celsius. The chicks emerge self-sufficient. Colourful wattles bloom in July and August and many orchids in spring. There is also access off the Wedderburn-Borung Rd.

Mount Korong
The first European to climb Mt Korong was explorer Thomas Mitchell in 1836. To get there follow the Calder Highway south-east for 9 km then turn left onto Powlett Rd. After about 6 km you will come to the southern slopes of the mountain where an unsealed road heads off to the left. It leads through a gate to a picnic area. You can stroll through the open forest or scramble over the granite boulders to reach the summit.

Camp Kooyoora
Camp Kooyoora, to the south-east of town, offers gold prospecting opportunities for groups and schools at low cost. There are also Aboriginal heritage trail walks (taking in old rock shelters, wells and canoe trees). It is signposted off the Calder Highway between Wedderburn and Inglewood, tel: (03) 5438 3057.